My 5 Technology New Year’s Resolutions for 2015

technical-communication

Keeping the new year in mind, have you created your technology New Year’s resolutions? This isn’t about losing weight or working out more often, it is instead about what technology changes you promise to make in 2015. I have a few changes I want to make, and I am resolving to make it happen this year.

  1. Learn C# – While many technology professionals have learned multiple programming languages, I haven’t learned C# since it was publicly announced in 2000. I already know and use several other languages, but this is the year to learn one more. This is the year I’m going to start learning and using C# as my primary programming language.
  2. Embrace the Cloud – With cloud based technologies becoming more popular, it is time that I investigate the cloud as possible solution to by projects. In 2015 I promise to put together an intelligent and coherent strategy for using the cloud.
  3. Windows 10 – I am currently evaluating the Windows 10 CTP released by Microsoft in 2014. I think Windows 10 is the best solution for Windows users, since I didn’t like Windows 8 or 8.1. This year I promise to organize and plan the move to Windows 10 for the over 100 corporate users at my company that I support.
  4. Consolidate Databases – I currently support more that 10 instances of SQL Server that can be consolidated into one or two instances. This has a few great benefits, like simpler administration, but also reduced licensing costs. This will be difficult because the instances range from SQL Server 2000 to 2012, and the Windows versions range from Windows Server 2003 to 2008 R2.
  5. Attend User Group Meetings – I attended about 6 user group meetings in 2014. Since I belong to 3 different groups, that is a poor attendance rate. While it can be extremely difficult to attend all 36 meeting in one year (I do have a full time job and a family that wants to spend time with me every day), I promise to support my groups more, and attend more meetings.

What are your technology promises for 2015?

Leave a Reply

