Presentations Using SQL Server Management Studio

Presentation - SeniorDBA

Any time you are doing a presentation in front of a group of people, you need to make sure they can see what you are doing. This is usually accomplished by projecting the image of your Windows desktop onto a large screen using a projector or television. The issue is Windows will often show that desktop image using the defined resolution for someone sitting a few feet away from the screen instead of someone who may be twenty feet of more away from the image.

The solution of this issue is to adjust the Windows resolution to allow of this issue, but some products don’t deal well with the changes, like the SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS). In this article by John Paul Cook we learn a little about how to manually adjust the display settings inside of SSMS to make the images a little easier to read.

Presentations Using SSMS - SeniorDBA

There is also a brief mention of the free Microsoft ZoomIt utility. I use the built-in Magnifier utility  in Windows 10. This utility uses simple shortcuts to make life simple:

  • Windows (logo) key & Plus (+) key: This combination zooms the screen.
  • Ctrl & Alt & F: Shows full-screen view.
  • Ctrl & Alt & L: Shows the lens view.
  • Windows (logo) key & Esc: Exits utility and returns to normal

I have done several presentations, usually to a technical crowd, and I can never get the display anywhere close to “perfect” for displaying the details I want to show. I resort to a practiced routine of zooming into my Transact-SQL text, in-zooming and re-zooming to the next part of the screen I want them to look at, then using ALT-Tab to switch to a different application, etc. It doesn’t matter, in my opinion, what you do as long as the final impression of the presentation is meaningful to the observer.

My focus it making sure the crowd learns what I’m trying to teach and they understand what I did (and how I did it) to get the same results I showed during the presentation. I’m careful to make sure, by practicing ahead of the actual event, that everyone will be able to see the presentation clearly. I also make sure the switching between in-zoomed and zoomed doesn’t confuse the observer.

You can get additional SQL Server presentation tips here.

Leave a Reply

